Cooking Buckwheat: AKA Kasha

Buckwheat, which isn't a wheat at all, is totally gluten-free and has a robust, nutty flavor which should make it the new guy on every pantry shelf.

Reader Contribution by Lois Hoffman
Updated on October 7, 2024
article image
by Adobestock/Maryna Osadcha

What is kasha? Kaska, AKA buckwheat, isn’t wheat, has a robust nutty flavor, is gluten-free, and cooking buckwheat can be easy peasy. Learn more about buckwheat benefits and start baking with it.

Growing up I remember many a morning waking up to the smell of buckwheat pancakes. Those stacks of sweet, nutty wholesomeness slathered with rich maple syrup made for the best breakfast ever.

That was over 40 years ago and today buckwheat is making a comeback into folks’ kitchens. A lot of this renewed interest is because of the gluten-free movement. It is more readily available than other non-wheat flours. Wait a minute, did I say non-wheat? Yep, buckwheat is literally in a class of its own.

Buckwheat is a pseudo-cereal, neither grass nor grain and has nothing to do with wheat. Instead, it is a fruit that is related to wild rhubarb. Its name came from the Dutch which means “the fruit of.” It is a popular plant to grow in many parts of the world because it is hardy and survives difficult conditions without requiring many pesticides or herbicides.

It matures quickly and is often planted as a cover crop. The entire plant is harvested and dried before removing the outer husks. The inner part of the fruit is what is used to make flour.  Buckwheat flour can be either light or dark, depending on how much hull is preserved. Light buckwheat flour is made from hulled kernels and the dark is derived from un-hulled and has dark specks in it. As it stands to reason, the dark has more fiber than the light.

Buckwheat Benefits

Online Store Logo
Need Help? Call 1-866-803-7096