Heather Jackson

Heather Jackson

Green Eggs and Goats

By Heather Jackson

Who am I? I am a 34 year old mother of 3 (2 girls and a boy). I have been married 12 years to my best friend Eric. As a homeschooling mom, I struggle each day to provide a safe learning environment for my children, to feed my family the healthiest foods possible and to make environmentally conscious choices. All while trying to impact the world for the better and run our little homestead. It’s a crazy life, but somebody’s got to do it!

Where do I live? I live in the small town of Remlap, Alabama.  We are located about 30 minutes north of Birmingham.  We moved here in 2011 after living in the suburbs for 10 years.  Before that, we were located just outside of Athens, Georgia (Go Dawgs!)  And in case you were wondering about our town’s strange name, Remlap is “Palmer” spelled backwards. 

Why did we move to the sticks? I just felt boxed in by the city.  I hated the constant noise of cars and sirens.  As strange as it sounds, I hated being about to have any item I desired within a 15 minute drive.  I need fresh air and room to roam!  I needed a yard for my kids to run around in, to dig holes in, and just to be kids.  I needed a pond for my husband to fish in after a long day of work while I finish cooking dinner.  I needed chickens and goats!  I was simply not cut out for the role of suburban housewife.  Simply put, I belong here.  (But it took a tornado to get my attention!  More about that later…) 

What critters do we have? Well it seems to vary on a day to day basis, but we currently have 5 goats, about 25 chickens, 2 ducks, 2 guineas, 2 cats, a dog, a betta fish, and a pond full of bream and catfish!